Sewing not knitting!

So I’ve been a member of a knitting/craft group for a year and never really become ‘immersed’ in knitting a basic scarf! I’ve restarted it several times before being happy with my colour choice and never really got it going!

I wanted to do something that I’ve created myself. Shortly after decided sewing should be quite easy and quickly after made a list of trendy things I could design myself (am obsessed with lists). My main idea I’ve based around sock monkeys. But the actual designs are customised.

I decided on Disney and am also obsessed with that along with Christmas and realised I could design Disney princess monkeys. They are going to be skin coloured monkeys with monkey mouths ears and tails. My original muse was that I could do this for charity instead of another fundraising idea I had but shortly after discovered you have to CE certify anything you sell. I live with my parents and would never afford the equipment for that or money to have them tested in a lab so am actually doing it for myself. I may give them away eventually after I have completed the collection (which is ridiculously large as I like so many characters), but am reserving them until then. If you like them for anyone over 16 let me know. The first is reserved for my grandma, as her favourite Disney princess is Snow White. And at the time I hadn’t realised I can easily adapt the patterns to material as skin colour socks are so hard to find these days, so a white sock is becoming Snow White or as I like to call her (her real name) Persephone.

image
Just a pesky Pom Pom animal I made last year!

The art comes in: it may sound like I’m just making princess monkeys but each one will be very different! I.e the eyes, mouths, noses and ears will be different and/or have different methods. For example Snow White’s eyes will be doll eyes but Jasmines will hopefully be felt! I learn a lot doing this and watching a lot of YouTube videos as I’ve never made anything let alone design anything by myself! I’m becoming a total sewing nerd who hand sews (yes I cannot cope when sewing machines get tangled up, can’t actually stand the thought of it and this used to happen a lot at home economics back in school), my patterns will go on various sites too if satisfactory. Maybe not my first Snow White because I had her face shape perfect first time but alas changed it thinking it was too small (you learn every day) but I think I know how to make a replica of the ‘gone’ Snow White.

Moving on the legs and arms will also be different length and widths also the tail and obviously torso. I nerdily enjoyed making her arms even after a friend removed the creation from my hands and showed me how I should be stuffing it (she had no hand). I realised triumphantly after stuffing is much easier than I thought.

Going to post Snow White so far but you probably won’t see so many images of the other dolls just because Snow White isn’t complete yet! I also have limited funds despite it looks like I AM (regretfully as a church-going Christian) materialistic.

As I don’t do things by halves if I really, really want something for my doll I generally get it or wait till I can afford it. And guys don’t you think doll eye finding is ridiculous?Well in my part of my country it is. There are two main places you would go for craft-related things; one has none at all and the other has an extremely limited choice. Also bought some angora wool for her hair online. Can’t have Snow White without silky hair! Gonna leave it there, but oh! – Absent in my aspergers I didn’t really introduce myself.

Well as mentioned I’m obsessed with both Christmas and Disney. Also always making lists of things I can watch/draw/create/craft. I also love art especially to draw Disney princesses but didn’t get the artistic gene like a lot of my family, but recently drew a pencil sketch of my grandma which actually looked like her but 5 years later! I had a little practice and can draw animals easily and other things ‘better than your average person’.

On the subject of art it’s very important, as you know when designing crafts or anything. So Snow White who nearly didn’t have a proper hand because of art and all the others I hope can be artistically accurate. As mentioned I understand that every aspect of a persons or characters body, face, personality, clothes and hair is unique. So hopefuly this helps in my creations.

Back to my interests – my other favourite things to draw are portraits (fictional/real), animals (mythical/real), flowers, trees and mythical creatures and fashion.

I must also mention am obsessed with fashion and colour too (am a member of polyvore), I have loads of clothes and would like to eventually make a garment. My dream job is a fashion designer or free lance toymaker. But for the moment have small wardrobe ideas for the princesses which will probably never happen! However there will be one removable costume for each princess.

As you may have guessed I love creating things. I also love animals, trees, house plants, flowers and anything to do with nature. I think I recently peaked at level 3 in animal management. As I take more than twice the time you have in an exam and am not practically very good with unfamiliar animals. So I’m presently taking a break from 4 years of college by doing a home-study creative writing course as I have an ambition to write a children’s novel. (Was always good at creative writing).

So that’s enough of me now; I’ll leave you with Snow White so far but apologise as posts may not be regular due to my current financial status. Patterns will also be posted here when the dolls are satisfactory. This page MAY be upgraded but I doubt it! Any room-sized donations of craft supplies will be appreciated, j/k. I obviously hope my page can be popular.

image
Snow White who has a very large bum and wrongly a ‘wood’ (according to Chinese face reading which I don’t beleive in but use for understanding facial feature shapes) and square/rectangle face. Snow White has short arms but does anyone think I made them TOO short?
image
((amputated Snow White poke))

 

 

Leave a comment